Shop  •   Avatar  •   FAQ  •   Search  •   Memberlist  •   Usergroups  •   Profile  •   Log in to check private messages  •   Log in  •  Register 

Prices
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> General Hints and strategies Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Roland
Helmsman

22541 Gold -

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 2:54 am    Post subject: Prices Reply with quote

As an economist, I am interested in how the economic systems of games work. I have started a research project on the prices at which the stranger offers items in the tavern. I know the price for "basic" items ranges from 1,000 to 3,000 at Apprentice; 1,500 to 3,500 at Adventurer; and 2,000 to 4,000 at Swash. (You can interpolate Journeyman and Rogue.) And the price range for "improved" items is thrice that of "basic" items. But what determines the variation of prices within the range? It is obviously related to a city's wealth, but beyond that I'm still not close to cracking it. The wealth rating on the world map (1 to 4 coins) appears to be a relative, rather than absolute scale, which makes for a complicated relationship with the rich-poor component of the "city type" rating (e.g., capital, port, trading post, stronghold).

So I decided to tackle an easier problem to ease my frustration: the prices offered by the shipwright for our prizes.
Code:
             Price of Vessel      
Class       0 Upgrds  8 Upgrds   Upgrd Cost

Pinnace      225         675      400
Sloop        300         900      500
Barque       375       1,125      600
Brig/Fluyt   450       1,350      700
Large        600       1,800      900

Large = Frigate/Galleon/Merchantman